安全性

Wi-Fi®已经成为日常生活中不可或缺的组成部分。全世界数十亿人的生活和工作都要依靠Wi-Fi,他们通过Wi-Fi购物、办理银行业务、安排生活并保持联系。保护Wi-Fi连接的安全对于个人数据安全保护发挥了重要作用。随着Wi-Fi设备在全球的使用量持续上升,Wi-Fi Alliance®已经站在增强Wi-Fi安全性的前沿。

自2003年以来,Wi-Fi Alliance已经通过Wi-Fi Protected Access®技术系列,帮助个人和企业增强了对流经Wi-Fi网络的信息的保护。Wi-Fi Protected Access安全功能不断发展,以随着安全环境的变化,增加更强大的保护能力和新的安全实践。

Wi-Fi Protected Access安全系列包括面向个人和企业网络的解决方案。

Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA3™

WPA3™是下一代Wi-Fi安全技术,向市场提供了最先进的安全协议。WPA3在成功获得广泛采用的Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2™的基础上,增加了新的功能,以简化Wi-Fi安全保障方法、实现更可靠的身份验证、为高度敏感的数据市场提高加密强度并保持关键任务型网络的弹性。所有WPA3网络都:

  • 采用最新的安全保障方法;
  • 禁止使用过时的传统协议;
  • 要求使用“受保护的管理帧(Protected Management Frames,简称PMF)。

因为不同Wi-Fi网络的用途和安全需求有所不同,所以WPA3专门为个人网络和企业级网络提供了额外功能。WPA3-Personal针对密码猜测企图增强了对用户的保护,而WPA3-Enterprise的用户现在则能够利用更高级的安全协议,保护敏感数据网络的安全。

WPA3保留了与WPA2™设备的互操作性,目前是Wi-Fi CERTIFIED设备的可选认证项目。随着时间推移和市场采用率提高,WPA3将成为必选认证项目。

WPA3-Personal

即使用户选择的密码达不到所建议的典型复杂度,WPA3-Personal也能够提供更可靠的基于密码的身份验证,因此可以更好地保护个人用户的安全。这种保护能力是通过“对等实体同时验证(Simultaneous Authentication of Equals,简称SAE)“实现的,SAE取代了”WPA2-Personal中采用的“预共享密钥(Pre-shared Key,简称PSK)”。SAE可以抵御离线字典式攻击,在这种攻击中,攻击者企图通过尝试可能的密码而不进行进一步的网络互动,来确定网络密码。

  • 自然密码选择:允许用户选择更易于记住的密码;
  • 易用:无需更改用户与网络的连接方式,就可提供更强的保护;
  • 正向保密:即使在数据发出后密码遭到泄漏,也可保护数据安全。

WPA3-Enterprise

企业、政府和金融机构采用WPA3-Enterprise能够提高安全性。WPA3-Enterprise以WPA2为基础,可在整个网络内确保一致地应用安全协议。

WPA3-Enterprise还提供一种可选模式,该模式采用192位最低加密强度的安全协议和加密工具,以更好地保护敏感数据。

  • 经过验证的加密:256位GCMP(Galois/Counter Mode Protocol);
  • 密钥导出和确认:采用SHA(Secure Hash Algorithm)的384位HMAC(Hashed Message Authentication Mode);
  • 密钥建立和验证:采用384位椭圆曲线的ECDH(Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman)交换和ECDSA(Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm);
  • 可靠的管理帧保护:256位BIP-GMAC(Broadcast/Multicast Integrity Protocol Galois Message Authentication Code)。

WPA3-Enterprise提供的192位安全模式可确保使用恰当的加密工具组合,并在WPA网络内设定了一致的安全基准。

Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2

WPA2继续在Wi-Fi生态系统内为Wi-Fi网络和设备提供安全及隐私保护。WPA2设备将继续保持互操作性,并提供10多年来已成为其标志的、倍受认可的安全性。

WPA2认证计划不断发展,以随着安全环境变化满足不断变化的安全需求。2018年,Wi-Fi Alliance通过配置、验证和加密功能,增强了现有网络的安全保护。增强对厂商安全措施的验证,以降低可能由网络错误配置导致的漏洞,并利用集中式验证服务,进一步保护运营商Wi-Fi网络的安全。

从2006年开始,所有Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™设备都采用了WPA2。

WPA2将继续发展,以使所有Wi-Fi CERTIFIED设备满足互操作性和安全性标准。在可预见的未来,WPA2仍将用于Wi-Fi CERTIFIED设备,而所有支持WPA3的设备将继续与WPA2设备保持互操作性。

开放式Wi-Fi 网络

用户在所有地方都要使用Wi-Fi网络:在家中、办公室、酒店、购物中心、公共交通中心和市政服务处。在这类地方使用不安全的网络是有风险的,个人数据可能被窃取,这也是为什么Wi-Fi Alliance强烈建议,只要可能,用户就应确保使用安全的、要求身份验证的网络。然而,在有些情况下,开放式Wi-Fi网络是惟一可行的选择。虽然世界各地很多消费者使用开放式网络都没有遇到任何问题,但重要的是,要意识到开放式网络是有风险的,要尽力保护用户数据。为了应对这种风险,Wi-Fi Alliance开发了一种有利于开放式Wi-Fi网络用户的解决方案。

Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Enhanced Open™是Wi-Fi Alliance的一项认证计划,在保留开放式网络使用便利这一特点的同时,降低了访问不安全的网络带来的某些风险。Wi-Fi Enhanced Open™网络无需进行身份验证,就为用户提供数据加密,这对根本不提供任何保护的传统开放式网络而言,是一大改进。这些保护对用户是透明的。Wi-Fi Enhanced Open™基于“互联网工程任务组(IETF)”RFC8110规范中定义的“机会性无线加密(Opportunistic Wireless Encryption,简称OWE)”协议和Wi-Fi Alliance的“机会性无线加密规范(Opportunistic Wireless Encryption Specification)”,在保持开放式网络易用性的同时提供数据加密,因此对用户有利,它对网络提供商也是有利的,因为无需网络提供商维护、分享或管理公共密码。

因为Wi-Fi Enhanced Open™是一项Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™计划,所以该技术与传统网络是兼容的,包括那些采用“强制主页(captive portal)”的传统网络。希望部署全功能身份验证和设备配置解决方案的网络运营商,应该考虑诸如Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Passpoint®这类方法。

Wi-Fi Alliance News See All
Media Coverage
Public Wi-Fi Is Safer Than Ever—But You Still Need to Be Careful
Product Finder
WPA3-Personal certified products
WPA3-Enterprise certified products
Download Additional Resources
Frequently Asked Questions
  • What does “security” mean in the context of Wi-Fi?

    In the context of Wi-Fi technology, security means two things. First, controlling who can connect to and configure your network and equipment. Second, it means securing the data travelling wirelessly across your Wi-Fi network from unauthorized view.

    Wi-Fi security is just one aspect of security for networks. A protected Wi-Fi network is a great start, but you should also consider measures to protect your computer (virus software, firewall, etc.) and your communications across the internet virtual private network (VPN), etc.

  • What is the KRACK attack?

    This term refers to a potential key reinstallation vulnerability detected in late 2017. Wi-Fi Alliance took steps immediately to ensure users can continue to count on Wi-Fi to deliver strong security protections. For more information on this issue view our security update.

  • What are Protected Management Frames?

    Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2™ with Protected Management Frames and Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA3™ provide protection for unicast and multicast management action frames. Unicast management action frames are protected from both eavesdropping and forging, and multicast management action frames are protected from forging. Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ ac, WPA3™, Passpoint®, Wi-Fi Agile Multiband™ and Wi-Fi Optimized Connectivity™ devices require Protected Management Frames. They augment privacy protections already in place for data frames with mechanisms to improve the resiliency of mission-critical networks.

  • Are Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products protected by security?

    Yes. All Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products are tested for WPA2 or WPA3. The only way to be sure that a product meets the latest security standards is to purchase only Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products.

     

  • What security measures should I take when working away from my home?

    Configure Wi-Fi client devices (laptops, handsets, and other Wi-Fi enabled products) to enable security protections.

    Configure for approved connections: Many devices are set by default to sense and automatically connect to any available wireless signal. Wi-Fi Alliance recommends that you configure your device to not automatically connect to an open network without your approval.

    Disable sharing: Wi-Fi enabled devices may automatically enable themselves to sharing / connecting with other devices when attaching to a wireless network. File and printer sharing may be common in business and home networks, but this should be avoided in a public network such as a hotel, restaurant, or airport hotspot.

    Users may also wish to use complementary security measures to improve the security of their activity over the internet including virtual private networks (VPNs), firewalls, etc.

  • What are “legacy protocols”?

    Other legacy protocols are earlier generations of Wi-Fi security, which have been updated or replaced over time due to the changing security landscape needs. The original security standard was Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP). It was replaced by the original Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) in 2003 as an interim solution to the limited protection offered by WEP. The WPA program added support for Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (TKIP) encryption, an older form of security technology with some vulnerability to cryptographic attacks. WPA was replaced in 2004 with more advanced protocols of WPA2.

    Though the threat of a security compromise is small, users should not purchase new equipment which supports only WPA with TKIP. Only devices supporting WPA2 and WPA3 security should be purchased and used.

Security

Wi-Fi® is an integral part of daily life. Billions of people the world over depend on Wi-Fi in their homes and businesses, to shop, bank, coordinate life, and stay connected. Securing Wi-Fi connections is an important element of securing personal data, and Wi-Fi Alliance® has been on the forefront of evolving Wi-Fi security as the number of Wi-Fi devices in use worldwide has grown.

Since 2003, Wi-Fi Alliance has enabled individuals and businesses to increase the protection of information moving across Wi-Fi networks through the Wi-Fi Protected Access® family of technologies. Security features of Wi-Fi Protected Access constantly evolve to include stronger protections and new security practices as the security landscape changes.

The Wi-Fi Protected Access security family includes solutions for personal and enterprise networks.

Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA3™

WPA3™ is the next generation of Wi-Fi security and provides cutting-edge security protocols to the market. Building on the widespread success and adoption of Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2™, WPA3 adds new features to simplify Wi-Fi security, enable more robust authentication, deliver increased cryptographic strength for highly sensitive data markets, and maintain resiliency of mission critical networks. All WPA3 networks:

  • Use the latest security methods
  • Disallow outdated legacy protocols
  • Require use of Protected Management Frames (PMF)

Since Wi-Fi networks differ in usage purpose and security needs, WPA3 includes additional capabilities specifically for personal and enterprise networks. Users of WPA3-Personal receive increased protections from password guessing attempts, while WPA3-Enterprise users can now take advantage of higher grade security protocols for sensitive data networks.

WPA3, which retains interoperability with WPA2™ devices, is currently an optional certification for Wi-Fi CERTIFIED devices. It will become required over time as market adoption grows.

WPA3-Personal

WPA3-Personal brings better protections to individual users by providing more robust password-based authentication, even when users choose passwords that fall short of typical complexity recommendations. This capability is enabled through Simultaneous Authentication of Equals (SAE), which replaces Pre-shared Key (PSK) in WPA2-Personal. The technology is resistant to offline dictionary attacks where an adversary attempts to determine a network password by trying possible passwords without further network interaction. 

  • Natural password selection: Allows users to choose passwords that are easier to remember
  • Ease of use: Delivers enhanced protections with no change to the way users connect to a network
  • Forward secrecy: Protects data traffic even if a password is compromised after the data was transmitted

WPA3-Enterprise

Enterprise, governments, and financial institutions have greater security with WPA3-Enterprise. WPA3-Enterprise builds upon WPA2 and ensures the consistent application of security protocols across the network.

WPA3-Enterprise also offers an optional mode using 192-bit minimum-strength security protocols and cryptographic tools to better protect sensitive data:

  • Authenticated encryption: 256-bit Galois/Counter Mode Protocol (GCMP-256)
  • Key derivation and confirmation: 384-bit Hashed Message Authentication Mode (HMAC) with Secure Hash Algorithm (HMAC-SHA384)
  • Key establishment and authentication: Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH) exchange and Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA) using a 384-bit elliptic curve
  • Robust management frame protection: 256-bit Broadcast/Multicast Integrity Protocol Galois Message Authentication Code (BIP-GMAC-256)

The 192-bit security mode offered by WPA3-Enterprise ensures the right combination of cryptographic tools are used and sets a consistent baseline of security within a WPA3 network.

Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2

WPA2 continues to provide security and privacy for Wi-Fi networks and devices throughout the Wi-Fi ecosystem. WPA2 devices will continue to interoperate and provide recognized security that has been its hallmark for more than a decade.

The WPA2 certification program has continually evolved to meet security needs as the security environment changes. In 2018, Wi-Fi Alliance augmented existing security protections for networks through configuration, authentication, and encryption enhancements. Enhanced validation of vendor security implementations reduces the potential for vulnerabilities due to network misconfiguration and further safeguard managed networks with centralized authentication services.

Since 2006, all Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ devices implement WPA2.

WPA2 will continue to evolve to meet standards for interoperability and security in all Wi-Fi CERTIFIED devices. WPA2 will be available in Wi-Fi CERTIFIED devices for the foreseeable future, and all devices supporting WPA3 will continue to work with WPA2 devices.

Open Wi-Fi networks

Users access Wi-Fi networks everywhere: at home, in the office, in hotels, shopping malls, transportation hubs, and municipal locations. Accessing unsecured networks in these locations presents a risk that someone could acquire personal data, which is why Wi-Fi Alliance highly recommends users ensure they access secure, authenticated networks whenever possible. However, there are situations where an open Wi-Fi network is the only feasible option. While many consumers worldwide utilize open networks with no issue, it is important to be aware of the risk an open network presents, and to be diligent in protecting user data. To address these risks, Wi-Fi Alliance has developed a solution to benefit users of open Wi-Fi networks.

Wi‑Fi CERTIFIED Enhanced Open is a Wi-Fi Alliance certification that preserves the convenience open networks offer while reducing some of the risks associated with accessing an unsecured network. Wi-Fi Enhanced Open networks provide unauthenticated data encryption to users, an improvement over traditional open networks with no protections at all. These protections are transparent to the user. Based on Opportunistic Wireless Encryption (OWE) defined in the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) RFC8110 specification and the Wi‑Fi Alliance Opportunistic Wireless Encryption Specification, Wi-Fi Enhanced Open benefits users by providing data encryption that maintains the ease of use of open networks, and benefits network providers because there are no public passphrases to maintain, share, or manage.

Because Wi-Fi Enhanced Open is a Wi-Fi CERTIFIED program, the technology is interoperable with legacy networks, even those using a captive portal. Network operators wishing to deploy a fully-featured authentication and device-provisioning solution should consider approaches such as Wi‑Fi CERTIFIED Passpoint®.

Wi-Fi Alliance News See All
Media Coverage See All
Wi-Fi security is starting to get is biggest upgrade in over a decade
WPA3 Wi-Fi is here, and it’s harder to hack
Wi-Fi Alliance introduces WPA3 and Wi-Fi Easy Connect
Product Finder
WPA2-Personal-certified products
WPA2-Enterprise-certified products
Download Additional Resources
Frequently Asked Questions
  • What does “security” mean in the context of Wi-Fi?

    In the context of Wi-Fi technology, security means two things. First, controlling who can connect to and configure your network and equipment. Second, it means securing the data travelling wirelessly across your Wi-Fi network from unauthorized view.

    Wi-Fi security is just one aspect of security for networks. A protected Wi-Fi network is a great start, but you should also consider measures to protect your computer (virus software, firewall, etc.) and your communications across the internet virtual private network (VPN), etc.

  • What is the KRACK attack?

    This term refers to a potential key reinstallation vulnerability detected in late 2017. Wi-Fi Alliance took steps immediately to ensure users can continue to count on Wi-Fi to deliver strong security protections. For more information on this issue view our security update.

  • What are Protected Management Frames?

    Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA2 with Protected Management Frames and Wi-Fi CERTIFIED WPA3 provide protection for unicast and multicast management action frames. Unicast management action frames are protected from both eavesdropping and forging, and multicast management action frames are protected from forging. Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ ac and WPA3 devices require Protected Management Frames. They augment privacy protections already in place for data frames with mechanisms to improve the resiliency of mission-critical networks.

  • What security measures should I take when working away from my home?

    Configure Wi-Fi client devices (laptops, handsets, and other Wi-Fi enabled products) to enable security protections.

    Configure for approved connections: Many devices are set by default to sense and automatically connect to any available wireless signal. Wi-Fi Alliance recommends that you configure your device to not automatically connect to an open network without your approval.

    Disable sharing: Wi-Fi enabled devices may automatically enable themselves to sharing / connecting with other devices when attaching to a wireless network. File and printer sharing may be common in business and home networks, but this should be avoided in a public network such as a hotel, restaurant, or airport hotspot.

    Users may also wish to use complementary security measures to improve the security of their activity over the internet including virtual private networks (VPNs), firewalls, etc.

  • Are Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products protected by security?

    Yes. All Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products are tested for WPA2 or WPA3. The only way to be sure that a product meets the latest security standards is to purchase only Wi-Fi CERTIFIED products.

     

  • What are “legacy protocols”?

    Other legacy protocols are earlier generations of Wi-Fi security, which have been updated or replaced over time due to the changing security landscape needs. The original security standard was Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP). It was replaced by the original Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) in 2003 as an interim solution to the limited protection offered by WEP. The WPA program added support for Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (TKIP) encryption, an older form of security technology with some vulnerability to cryptographic attacks. WPA was replaced in 2004 with more advanced protocols of WPA2.

    Though the threat of a security compromise is small, users should not purchase new equipment which supports only WPA with TKIP. Only devices supporting WPA2 and WPA3 security should be purchased and used.